What is elder or dependent adult abuse?
- Abuse of an elder or dependent adult means:
- Physical Abuse,
- Financial Abuse,
- Abduction, or
- Other treatment resulting in physical harm or mental suffering,
- The deprivation by a care provider of goods or services necessary to avoid physical harm or mental suffering.
Who is an elder and dependent adult?
- An elder is any person residing in the State of California who is 65 years of age, or over
- A dependent adult is anyone residing in this state, between the ages of 18 and 64 years, who:
- Has physical or mental limitations that restrict his or her ability to carry out normal activities or to protect his or her rights including, but not limited to, persons who have physical or developmental disabilities or whose physical or mental abilities have diminished because of age,
- Between the ages of 18 and 64 who is admitted as an inpatient to a 24-hour health facility, as defined by the law.
Our APS Goals
The Adult Protective Services (APS) program is mandated by the State of California. San Bernardino County APS strives to have all elders and dependent adults live their lives free from the threat or reality of abuse.
For Financial Institutions
If you are interested in viewing a PowerPoint presentation on financial abuse, please click here:
Elder Abuse Financial Abuse Powerpoint
To find a District office near you, click here.
Please check back with us often for updates!
SAN BERNARDINO COUNTY
24-HOUR TOLL-FREE HOTLINE